Posted on

Day Nine

Usual crazy dreams during the night, but awoke feeling kind of odd. I was tired and had a “craving”, but not for a cigarette. Perplexed I went downstairs, dodging the livestock and was trying to focus on what I needed.

I started grinding the coffee beans and the aroma wafted to my nose. It was the coffee I wanted! What is odd about this, is when going cold turkey, I actually had to avoid coffee as it triggered the need for a cigarette. Today all I wanted was the coffee!

So the morning went fairly uneventful and I sat outside with my coffee quite content. During the day at work I was happy to be able to report again to co workers, “nah .. still done” as they scurried outside. I actually went out a couple of times with them for an “air break” and found I could actually converse without a death stick in my hand.

I had to run an errand during the day, so went for a brisk walk in the sun through our downtown core. For the first time I noticed the number of people outside 20 meters away from entrance as per our by law, puffing away. I thought I would be jealous, but wasn’t. At first I felt sorry for them as I know more than likely they all want to quit. Then I became annoyed, when smokers would dart in front of me or exhale right as I past by. As I live with a non-smoker, I was what I fondly call a “courteous smoker”. I always tried to make sure my filth wasn’t encroaching onto others nearby, especially when Mom and a stroller would come by … hold the smoke in, don’t exhale until they pass…

I certainly don’t want to become a born again non-smoker and start preaching and holding exorcisms on the damned, but I did have to check myself as to why I felt so frustrated when passing some of these folks. Or is it just me overreacting to confirm in my head, smoking is evil?

By the afternoon, when tired from work I had a zillion things to do. Including the dreaded wait at the clinic to get a new prescription. I’m always one to do things in advance, but this time my last current dose runs out on Monday and Monday is a holiday, as Clinics seem to become emergency rooms over long weekends, figured I better get ahead of the game.

After dinner I began to get heartburn which I only ever get when I quit smoking. It could be my diet of snacks and treats during the day or maybe it is actually something physical that goes on. Water is like fire. So added the picking up of Tums to my list

Come time to plop into bed I also noticed a benefit. I usually shower in the morning and at night so I don’t smell like smoke when going to bed, once again thinking of my wife. I was so tired, but I was able to skip it! Bonus for me, my wife and I guess the environment considering we have had no rain in 6 weeks as well as the pocket book

I was VERY pleased with today. I have not been able to go a second day and still function at such a high level, mentally and physically. I do have moments of “zoning”, but just a few seconds. I have also noticed a tingly feeling through my arms and torso. Which from research is a physical side affect from not smoking. I will assume I’m going to get the clearing cough, bowel issues, sense of smell and taste along with the other side affects/benefits as I’m not sure Champix takes care of that, but so far things are rolling well

All I wanted was to be able to continue to function as I don’t have the option to stay in bed for a week .. I’m really happy how things are going!

Leave a Reply

